Random Thoughts – 8/5/13

I haven’t had a chance to update the blog in a couple weeks, thanks to real-life getting in the way, but I have been listening to a good deal of music throughout and thought I’d share some thoughts I’ve had along my not-so-merry way.  Some may get expounded in their own postings in the near future, some are fleeting, but here they go…

LAB 10153-2 Livreto.indd

  • Where has Ed Motta been hiding all my life?  The Brazilian soul/funk/jazz man just recently came to my attention thanks to his new album AOR, which is a tribute to the music genre known as ’70s/’80s Westcoast, or the pithier and spot-on “Yacht Rock”.  I first heard it sung in Portuguese, but recently bought the rare English version, and it is an exact replica of Aja/Gaucho-era Steely Dan if I’ve ever heard one.  He’ll tell you that himself here.  A modern retro classic.

Daft Punk RAM

  • I think modern dance music, especially the genre known EDM, is just an endless, mindless dirge of brain-numbing noise.  And, by extension, that could go for much of today’s Pop music as well, since that seems to have been the current Pop trend over the last few years.  So it is with great pleasure and surprise that I am thoroughly enjoying the latest releases by Daft Punk, Justin Timberlake, Robin Thicke and Mayer Hawthorne (look him UP!).  They seem to be tilting the trend back toward Soul and (dare I say) Disco with more organic sounds made with real instruments and just a general sense of fun I haven’t heard in years.  When the sounds of Nile Rodgers and Marvin Gaye return to the top of the charts, I say it’s a good moment in Pop music.

Nilsson

  • Just took delivery of my long-awaited Harry Nilsson The RCA Albums Collection boxed set, and if this doesn’t get a Grammy nomination and win for Best Historical Album, I don’t know what will.  Not even halfway through, and I gotta say Vic Anesini‘s ears should be bronzed – but not before he can use them to bestow more remastering excellence on us all.

Creedence+Clearwater+Revival+-+Absolute+Originals+[45RPM]+-+12"+RECORD_MAXI+SINGLE-481018

  • Speaking of remastering excellence, I’ve rediscovered Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray’s excellent work on the Creedence Clearwater Revival catalog via their 2003 box Absolute Originals.  The recent 40th Anniversary reissues and their overly-compressed sound sent me searching for more natural-sounding alternatives.  These are it.  In spades.

Rush_VaporTrails_Remix_Cover

  • Just read that Rush have remixed their 2002 album Vapor Trails, which I have been bitching about, sound-wise, since its original release.  On October 1st, maybe we’ll finally get to hear some clarity from that squashed mess.  Not that I’ve really dug anything they’ve done since 1996…
Leave a Reply

